Skip navigation

Agenda

Welcome to the  NLCC Native Language Capacity Building Symposium! The agenda follows below with descriptions about each topic and the days offered.

Join Zoom Webinar

Meeting ID: 980 3460 9977
Password: 072603

Call in number: (253) 215-8782

  • Tuesday, September 15
    Innovative Language Learning Tools & Strategies Part 1
    (3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time; 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m Pacific Time)
    Presenter: Cree Whelshula
    This session will go over how to develop a language inventory through google spreadsheet that is able to integrate into an app development program that allows tribes/programs to house their own language materials. This inventory will also be helpful in material resource development overall. In this session, we will also cover how to develop a hyper-doc to create student paced learning cycles and utilizing add-ons and extensions to create interactive activities and materials.
  • Wednesday, September 16
    Innovative Language Learning Tools & Strategies Part 2
    (3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time; 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m Pacific Time)
    Presenter: Cree Whelshula
    This session builds upon Part 1 and will go over how to create a highly interactive Google site for your class and different types of integrations that are available for the site. This will include eBooks, interactive slides, drag and drops, and much more. Lastly, we will review how to develop digital worksheets (that could also be printable) to create interactive language experiences for any learner and could also go towards developing a language workbook.
  • Thursday, September 17
    Protecting your Resources
    (3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time ; 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m Pacific Time)
    Presenter: Cree Whelshula and Melodi Wynne, PhD
    This topic will include a short presentation on awareness about intellectual property and what ANA has seen among its language grantees. It will also cover the importance of contract wording. A listening session where the attendees will discuss and share their own experiences, biggest concerns, and ask questions.
  • Friday, September 18
    Strategic Planning
    (3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time; 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m Pacific Time)
    Presenter: Cree Whelshula
    This workshop goes over the basic principles of strategic planning and how to work collaboratively with various partners and organizations to develop a vision, mission, values, and objectives. During this session, we will also look at a made-up language and its unique language factors, and determine a vision, mission, and identify potential strategic priorities based on its unique factors.

Time Zone Reference

Timezone Time

Hawaii (HT)

9:00AM

Alaska (AKT)

11:00AM

Pacific (PT)

12:00PM

Mountain (MT)

1:00PM

Central (CT)

2:00PM

Eastern (ET)

3:00PM